sowandcrop

all around greens

DSCF0426

Altica

25 commenti

L’altica è un piccolo coleottero fitofago, appartenente alla famiglia dei Crisomelide.

Ne esistono varie specie che attaccano colture differenti, quali cavoli, bieta, ravanelli (tutte crucifere), in America posssono essere colpiti anche il mais e la patata dolce.

Si possono distinguere tra loro in base al colore dell’involucro chitinoso che ne forma l’esoscheletro. Quella del cavolo è tutta nera, mentre per la bieta è verde bluastra con riflessi  argentati.

Sono però tutte caratterizzate da un corpo minuscolo (circa tre millimetri) e da sviluppati arti posteriori che permettono loro di eseguire rapidi salti. Per questa caratteristica viene chiamata anche pulce di terra.

I danni alle colture sono provocati solo dagli adulti (a differenza degli altri insetti dove sono le larve ad essere fitofaghe) che provocano dei veri e propri buchi nelle foglie, soprattutto quelle più giovani e tenere.

Se il numero di parassiti è limitato, la pianta riesce a proseguire nella sua crescita, altrimenti può morire o non seguire uno sviluppo corretto.

Con l’umidità e il freddo si ritira in punti protetti del terreno, mentre con il caldo si butta sulle piante.

In inverno si nasconde nel terreno e aspetta la priamvera sucessiva.

E’ quindi buona pratica tenere pulito attorno alle piante in modo da non creare nascondigli; in caso di infestazione tenere il terreno sempre umido. Per es. con la pacciamatura e ricorrere al piretro naturale.

Ho provato: infuso di nicotina, macerato d’aglio e macerato di peperoncino. L’unico è stato quello d’aglio. Sono comunque repellenti e devono essere somministrati alla ricomparsa degli insetti. Non lasciano residui nelle colture.

Il macerato d’ortica non si può usare perchè attira le…cavolaie.

Summery

Altica is a little beattle, belongd to Fam. Crisomelide.

Severals spices exist and attack different plants  as swiss chard, cabbage and cauliflower, radish, in North America mais and sweet potato are the most attacked.

They are very little with a body of different colour that permits us to identify them: black for the one of crucifere, and green-blu with silver reflexes for bswiss chard.

The characteristic presents in all ofthem is the great develop of their hing legs. They permit to the beattle to jump. For this reason they are called flea.

The damage is caused only by aduts and not by grubs. If they are in small number the plant succeeds in survive, on the contrary it dies or grows wrongly.

Altica hates cold and moisture and during winter it refuges on the ground.

To defense our plants from this beattle: clean around the plants, keep the ground wet and use natural pyretro.

I’ve tried with different macerates (nettle, garlic, pepper) and with nicotine brew.  The one by garlic is successful as repellent. The nettle  one is a good recall for cabbage white (butterfly).

25 thoughts on “Altica

  1. Every weekend i used to pay a visit this web site, because i wish
    for enjoyment, as this this web site conations genuinely nice funny material too.

  2. I’m impressed, I have to admit. Rarely do I encounter a blog that’s both equally
    educative and amusing, and let me tell you, you’ve hit the nail on the head. The problem is an issue that not enough men and women are speaking intelligently about. I’m very happy I came across this during my search for something regarding this.

  3. Hello there, You have done a great job. I will definitely digg it and personally suggest
    to my friends. I’m confident they’ll be benefited from this website.

  4. It’s hard to come by well-informed people on this topic, however, you sound like you know what you’re talking about!
    Thanks

  5. Hello there! I could have sworn I’ve been to this site before but after going through a few of the posts I realized it’s new to me.
    Anyhow, I’m certainly delighted I stumbled upon it and I’ll be bookmarking it and checking back often!

  6. Hey! I know this is sort of off-topic however I needed to ask.
    Does managing a well-established website such as yours
    require a large amount of work? I’m brand new to blogging however I do write in my diary every day. I’d like to start
    a blog so I can easily share my own experience and views online.
    Please let me know if you have any kind of ideas or tips for brand new aspiring blog owners.
    Appreciate it!

    • No problem, it isn’t ‘off topic’ for me. I can tell you my way. I decide to share my experiences in this field and so I choose this platform for realize my blog. From this I start to write and post photos and ideas. The only advice I let you is to try! Every other things will arrive naturally and autonomously. If you decide to continue, let me know the address of your blog so to share your experiences, and if you have any other questions about, ask me without any problems, I hope to help you. Good work!

  7. Greate article. Keep writing such kind of info on your page.

    Im really impressed by your site.
    Hey there, You’ve done a fantastic job. I’ll certainly digg it and in my opinion suggest to my friends.
    I’m confident they’ll be benefited from this web site.

  8. Hey there! Do you use Twitter? I’d like to follow you if that would be okay.
    I’m definitel enjoying your blog and look forward to new posts.

  9. each time i used to read smaller articles or reviews which also clear their motive,
    and that is also happening with this paragraph which I am
    reading now.

  10. Wow, awesome weblog format! How long have you been blogging for?

    you make blogging glance easy. The entire look of your website is magnificent, as well as the content material!

  11. I am extremely impressed along with your writing skills and
    also with the layout for your blog. Is that this a paid subjct
    matter or did you customize it your self? Either way stay
    up the excellent quality writing, it’s rarte to peer a great blog like this one today..

  12. Hey I know this is off topic but I was wondering if you knew of any widgets I could add to my blog
    that automatically tweet my newest twitter updates.
    I’ve been looking for a plug-in like this for quite some time and was hoping maybe you would
    have some experience with something like this.
    Please let me know if you run into anything. I truly enjoy reading your blog
    and I look forward to your new updates.

  13. Why viewers still use to read news papers when in this technological world everything is available on net?

  14. It is actually a nice and useful piece of information. I’m
    satisfied that you shared this useful information with us.

    Please keep us up to date like this. Thank you
    for sharing.

  15. Thank you for sharing your info. I truly appreciate
    your efforts and I am waiting for your next post thanks once again.

Lascia un commento

